What is the difference between Kundalini and Hatha yoga? 

Hatha yoga is the physical branch of the yoga tradition and focuses on the structure of the body to help relieve stress and to provide strength in one’s mind and body.  In learning the asanas (yogic postures) of Hatha yoga, a sense of health and vitality is created to help prepare for meditation.  Hatha yoga can decrease stress, regulate metabolism, and heal many physical ailments.  Practitioners leave class with a deeper connection to their bodies, muscular flexibility, strength, relaxation, concentration, and overall well-being and health.

Kundalini yoga uses breath, yogic postures and meditation to help maintain a healthy spine helping to strengthen the nervous and glandular systems.  Each class can help one become aware of much more than just the strength of the body.  It helps to facilitate a change physically as well as emotionally and spiritually.  Kundalini yoga is yoga for the mind, body, and spirit.

How often should I take yoga class?     

As often as you like! Everyday is a great day to practice. 

Should I eat before class?                                                                                                                          

It is ideal to practice on an empty stomach, or at least 2 1/2 hours after eating. 

What should I wear?                                                                                                                      

Comfortable clothes you can move easily in are best for yoga.  Tank tops or T-shirts and loose, stretchy pants work best.  Yoga is practiced barefoot. You can change into your clothes upon arrival. 

What should I bring?                                                                                                                              

Bring a face towel and water along with you. We also recommend you to bring along your own yoga mat as it would be more hygienic for you. But if you do not have one, you may use the yoga mats provided here or buy one from our shop.

Which class should I take?                                                                                                                       

We recommend trying as many different styles as possible for beginners.  One of the best gifts about Inner Peace Yoga Circle is you can mix and match your classes to suit your needs.  If you have specific questions (a bad back, a strong desire for a meditation centered class, etc) talk to someone at the desk, and he/she will be able to help advise you to the best class for you. 

Do I need to register in advance?                                                                                                           

No. Just come a few minutes early to check in at the desk and acquaint yourself with our center. 

How far along do I need to be to take prenatal yoga?                                                                        

We recommend you take prenatal classes once conception has occurred, or as soon as you are aware you are pregnant.  If you do attend a regular class, let the teacher know you are pregnant, and avoid any postures that involve pressure on the pelvis, navel, or heavy breathing. 

What if I’m running late?                                                                                                                 

Kundalini classes are open to all latecomers.  We would prefer you get some practice rather than no practice. 

Hatha Yoga

What is Hatha yoga?

Hatha yoga is the path of physical yoga or the yoga of postures, and is the most popular branch of yoga in Western culture.  Hatha yoga considers the body as the vehicle for the soul.  It uses asana (physical postures), pranayama (breathing techniques), and meditation in order to bring the body to perfect health and open it for the more subtle spiritual elements of the mind to emerge freely.  The practice of Hatha Yoga will result in the union of the body and the soul.  It aims to make the body perfect and fill it with prana (life force). 


What is Kundalini Yoga?

Kundalini Yoga balances the nervous and glandular systems.  You’ll chant, do physical postures and meditate to heal physically, mentally, and spiritually.  You’ll experience your highest consciousness so you can find sacred purpose in your life.